• Google Plus
  • Pinterest
  • You Tube
  • Rss

Kelis Releases New Single, “Jerk Ribs,” & Dishes On New Album



As some of you may know, Kelis took some time away from music to pursue a culinary degree. Telling from some of the images she’s shared with fans on her official Instagram page, we’re guessing she may even be a very good cook. But, the singer is now returning to her musical roots with the pending release of a new album, appropriately titled, ‘Food.’ In fact, the singer has already released her new single, “Jerk Ribs,” from the project, unveiling the above album artwork.

Of the album, the singer recently dished to Hip Hollywood,

“My new album is called Food. It comes out April 22nd. Dave Sitek produced it. It’s full band. It’s got horn sections and strings and orchestra. It’s very dramatic. And I’m really excited about it. I don’t rush to put albums out. I kinda like to wallow in them for a bit. So it’s one of those!”

Of preparing and recording the album she adds, “We were recording in a house. It was Dave’s house and he lives really close to me so… It was a huge band. People were there and people are hungry. And so we were eating, recording and singing and eating some more. So it became… [Food]. That was the plan but that’s just what it ended up being because that’s just who we are, which was nice because it was just really natural and felt really good and tasted really good, too.”

Take a listen to the new single below and tell us what you think.

And here’s a look at the album track listing:

1. Jerk Ribs
2. Breakfast
3. Forever Be
4. Floyd
5. Runner
6. Hooch
7. Cobbler
8. Bless The Telephone
9. Fish Fry
10. Change
11. Rumble
12. Biscuits ‘n’ Gravy
13. Dreamer

The album is expected to be released on April 22nd.

(Photo: Kelis/Instagram)


About Author

Comments are closed.